Rally for Reform-An Invitation to Make It Right for Singapore

Dear Fellow Singaporean, 

It has taken a lot of your blood, sweat and tears over some nearly 50 years for Singaporeans to get to where we are today. But the next election is not about where we have been and what we have done, it is about the kind of Singapore we leave behind for our children. It is about the next 50 years.

The Reform Party’s vision of Singapore is that of an advanced democracy in which prosperity and freedom go hand in hand. Where hard work and wealth creation are rewarded. Where there is equality of opportunity and no one gets left behind. A Singapore where we determine our destiny.

The Party has put forward nineteen reforms that we want to make to put Singaporeans first (https://votingrp.wordpress.com/about/). These include stricter curbs on foreign labour, a minimum wage, reform of housing policy to deliver affordable housing to those who need it, universal comprehensive medical insurance, a basic old age pension, giving you control over your CPF savings and a stake for Singaporeans in our sovereign wealth funds. 

We will push to reduce waste and inefficiency in government starting by slashing ministerial salaries and replacing it with performance-linked earnings tied to indicators directly related to your welfare. We will seek to abolish restrictions on freedom of expression in order to foster creativity and innovation necessary for a 21st century knowledge-based economy.

But change is not something that just happens. It is the marriage of vision to action; a combination of courage and commitment. It is certainly not something that the Reform Party can do without you. So we are asking you to spread the word. 

On January 15 2011, the Reform Party will stage its first pre-election rally at Hong Lim Park. As you sit down to dinner tonight, tell a family member. As you gather to celebrate these early days of the New Year, tell your friends. Follow us on Twitter. Find us on Facebook. Invite your family and friends to the Rally and help us hit our target of 10,000 invitations! But above all, come and spend that January afternoon with us and take this first, most important step toward making it right for Singapore. Come and hear how we intend to implement our reforms. Let us explain to you why we can pay for our policies without raising taxes.

See you at the pre-election rally. 

Sincerely,

Kenneth Jeyaretnam
Secretary-General

Reform Party

About kjeyaretnam

I'm a Singaporean economist who became an opposition activist. I blog to provide an alternative to the porkies that the Pinkies tell. It just so happens that my alternative is the truth. That's why I've never been sued in any civil or criminal court no matter how hard hitting my criticism. I'm quoted and interviewed and asked to speak across the world but largely censored in Singapore in an effort to silence my political opinions. The left hate me because they think I split their vote and because I eschew their outmoded economic models. Models that don't work. The Right and the Conservatives hate me because I'm a liberal. I'm not sure what the middle think of me. I don't think there are more than a handful of people in the middle, here in Singapore. I'm a Singaporean born and bred, dual heritage, my parents Singaporean established here before the State of Singapore was created. I'm not Eurasian. I read economics at Cambridge and could be broadly described as from the Keynesian school but I believe in interventions. I was formerly a successful hedge fund manager. After economics and politics my greatest interests are history, film and Makan. I run but I run so I can eat like a Singaporean.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

